Customer Reviews

Below is a list of customer reviews that we have received.

If you would like to leave a review, please click on the link below and add your review in the Contact Section.

Leave a Review      Hometown Motors reviews:  RATING 4.9 out of  25 Reviews


Molly Jacobs - Owatonna - - Source - Google Reviews

Friendly locally owned business. They did a great job getting our car up and running again!! Thanks Daryl!!!

02.15.2017

Respose from Owner 02.19.2017

Thank you so much Molly.  You have been a great customer for a long time and we appreciate the review!


Adam Jacobs - Owatonna - Source- Google Reviews

When my wife and I moved to Owatonna we luckily didn't need to look far for a great auto mechanic shop. I've had both minor maintenance items and MAJOR work done at Hometown. In the past I would call an out of state relative who owns a shop, to discuss any quotes they provided, just to see if they were fair. I've stopped doing this. Hometown's prices are always competitive and they are always fair. In addition, when we ask them to work on our car we don't get a list of 100 other things that need fixed. Unless they find something else that just isn't safe.

Our most recent car issue was MAJOR! Daryl and the team at Hometown Motors really worked with us to get our car back on the road for a price that could not be beat! Can't thank them enough for the work they did. We will continue to use Hometown Motors for all of our auto mechanic needs.

Thanks again Daryl and team!

02.15.2017

Response from the owner 02.19.2017

Thank you very much Adam.  I know you were in a tough spot on your past visit, so we did our best to help you out.  We are so happy that you were pleased!  Thank you for being a great customer!


Brenda Misgen - Ellendale  - Source - Google Reviews

We have been doing business with Hometown Motors longer than I can remember. They have always been wonderful to deal with! They are extremely knowledgeable at what they do, and do it well. Thanks for being a wonderful group to do business with! Keep up the good work!

Response from the owner

Thank you Brenda for the kind words and a great review. We do try hard every day! You guys have been great as well. We appreciate the good review. Wish all the crew at the shop a happy holiday from all of us at Hometown Motors!

01.11.2016


Derek Smith - Owatonna - Source - Google Reviews

It has always been a pleasure working with this company. The owners seem to be especially friendly. Thank you!

Response from the owner a week ago

Thank you so much for the nice review Derek. It is nice to hear that even Insurance Companies appreciate our business demeanor! It is always a pleasure doing business with your company as well!

01.11.2016


Rilu Gaxiola - Owatonna - Source - Facebook Reviews

Love the customer service! Extremely helpful and mindful of my needs. Satisfied customer❤. Thank you!

11.25.2015


Marlette Jones - Waterville  - Source - Google Reviews

11.12.2015

I've recently become a new customer at Hometown Motors when I had them tune up my vehicle before taking it on a long distance trip. My vehicle is older and I appreciated the honesty from Daryl the owner who gave me advice on what the core issues were that needed to be addressed. I didn't want to sink an absorbent amount of cash into an older vehicle and I believe his recommendations were spot on.
One of the perks they offer is their drop off and pick up drive service. I could go to work while my vehicle was being serviced and I was able to get to know Char, the owner. During this time we had a nice conversation and I realized how involved they are in helping make their community a better place. They participate in some of Owatonna's leading organizations and donate and purchase items at benefits to help people in need.
Cindy helped to check me out and did a great job reviewing their vehicle inspection report that lists the overall condition of my vehicle. Whenever I've called she has been polite and knowledgeable in answering my questions.
One of the observations I noticed was how tidy and clean the shop and service area are kept. I believe this reflects the kind of business that offers thorough and exceptional work.


I had a first-rate experience with Hometown. In the future I know I'm in good hands and can trust my auto care needs will be met with complete satisfaction.

Thank you!

Thank you Marlette! You have no idea how much I appreciate another excellent review. We try so hard everyday to make everyone happy and take care of our customers. Welcome you our business! This is the way it is suppose to work! We are very pleased that you were happy with all of us. We will see you again! and again, and again...

Response from the owner 11.14.2015


Scott Wilkoman - Owatonna   - Source - Web Site Reviews

11.07.2015
Brought my truck in for an alignment.  They set it up on the rack and showed me the bad parts that I needed.  They said if I had them do all the work and bought my tires here I would get the alignment for free.  It took them 2 days to get it all done and the tires were the same price as the competition.  I saved the money on the alignment and paid the same for the rest of the work.  I just wished they could have got it done the same day.  I did get to use a loaner car for free while my truck was there though.  Good experience!  I will go back again. 

Response from the owner 11.09.2015

Thank you Scott. Sorry it took two days to get you done.  We are very happy that you are happy as we always trying to make everyone happy.  As always, we appreciate the good review as well as the business!


Tiffany Olson - Owatonna  - Source - Web Site Reviews

11.10.2015
I brought in an estimate from another shop to fix my water pump and they said they would match it.  When they worked on my car, it was just the hose leaking.  They fixed it and saved me $324.76!  This place is awesome and supper honest!  Loved Char and Cindy at the counter and the Weiner Dog Lucy! Great experience!  

Response from the owner 11.11.2015

Thank you Tiffany. That was a really nice review.  We all appreciate it!  Don't forget to tell your dad to stop in with his Truck!  As always, we appreciate the good review as well as the business!


Robert Dettmer - Austin  - Source - Web Site Reviews

11.11.2015
I stopped in on Monday and had them do a quick oil change.  They got me in right away and did not try to up sell me anything.  I was there for less that 1/2 hour and back on the road!  Great service, nice people.

Response from the owner 11.12.2015

Thank you Robert. Come see us again.  As always, we appreciate the good review as well as the business!


Carol Collins - Albert Lea  - Source - Web Site Reviews
 
11.09.2015
I was on the road and in pinch and was referred to them by another shop.  I was treated like family and was back on the road.  Prices were fair, the service was fantastic.  I have a great experience and would recommend this shop to everyone!
 
Response from the owner 11.11.2015

Thank you Carol. You were a good person and great to work with as well!  As always, we appreciate the good review as well as the business!


 
Shaundra Marie Kubicek - Owatonna - Source - Facebook Reviews
 
Nice job!  Thanks for the quick service on our GMC Acadia!  You guys rock!
 
11.05-2015

LR Price - Owatonna  - Source - Google Reviews

 
10.22.2015
I brought my truck in today for a quick oil change and inspection and waited while they did the work. They found a few other things wrong with my truck that needed to be done. Even though they were very busy, they went out of their way to take me home, pick me up and get me done before they closed. I was impressed with their service and personal attention. Super nice people and a great experience!
 
Response from the owner 10.23.2015

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the good review as well as the business! Daryl and Char Kubicek


Brenda Robbie - Owatonna  - Source - Goolge Reviews

More than 1 year ago
Char and Daryl were awesome to work with. Buying a used car can be a nerve wracking experience without having to worry about working with a bad sales person (I had a couple of those during my searching process). These two were easy to work with, honest, flexible with my schedule (including meeting me on a weekend), and seemed like overall good people! I now have a great car that I got for a good price. Thanks Daryl, Char & Hometown Motors!
 
Response from the owner 2 weeks ago

Wow Brenda, I just noticed your kind words! Char and I are not Google savvy and just starting learning this all on Friday. So this is a late thank you, but very much appreciated! I am glad you liked the service and the car! Stop in and see us again.


Steve Rohwer - Owatonna  - Source - Google Reviews

More than a year ago-
I have been having our vehicles serviced here for over 15 years and would not take my car or truck anywhere else.  The entire staff here is very honest and knowledgeable.  I recommend this place to everyone!  Good job Hometown Motors for years of great service!
 
Response from the owner 10.15.2015
Thanks Steve for being a great customer and friend!  You are one of our best!

Katrina Rahier - Owatonna  - Source - Google Reviews

More than a year ago-

I went in for an oil change the long haired blonde lady was snooty and short with me from the start. I handed over a couple for an $20 oil change and told her it was no hurry I was just going to walk over to HyVee while I waited on my vehicle's oil change. I came back and ended up paying $30 for an oil change rather than $20 because I had a different type of oil in my car she said I had a 10w20 when I know I had 5w30 from my previous oil change. The lady then proceeded to charge me extra for a different type of oil that wasn't included with the coupon. Then I looked at my oil change sticker on my windshield for the mileage for my next oil change and these numbers appeared 1,606,000 for mileage. I'd like to say this was a typo and accidentally had a extra zero typed in but that would mean my oil change mileage would be 160,600. The mileage I had on the car at the time of the oil change was 160,297 so definitely couldn't be that. Just HIGHLY unprofessional and ANNOYING!!
 
Response from the owner 10.15.2015

Good afternoon Katrina, I did not know this review was on our site until Friday last week as we are not "Review savvy". We are very sorry that you felt the way you did a year ago. My deepest apologies for any mis understanding there may have been. First of all, there is a misconception about the type of oil that your car manufacturer recommends. Indeed it does recommend a different oil than the coupon covered. We did add the correct oil to your engine and it appears that a previous garage did not. We always follow the manufacturer recommendations to prevent a failure that would be caused do to improper maintenance. In this case, we have done the right thing for you and hope you understand this. Char was the lady who helped you check in and check out and does not recall, (possibly because of the time delay here), having an issue with you or anyone over a coupon mishap. I did look up your invoice and she did honor the coupon price with the exception of the difference in the oil as the coupon stated. Again, we did honor what the coupon stated. My best guess here is that she explained what I just typed and hopefully that is not why she was being annoying. She was simply doing her job. She has done this job for 34 years, sitting next to me. Both of us do the best we can each and every day trying to make all our customers happy. As for the decal in the window...I have no answer. I don't recall an issue with the printer, ever, so it may have just been a typo. The technicians are human, just like you and I, and can make a mistake. If you would have returned to point this out, you would have gotten a new one and an apology. The correct mileage is also recorded on your invoice as well as in our computer for future reference. Please stop in for a complimentary oil change someday and print this out. Give it to one of the girls at the front desk and they will honor it, no questions asked. If you have the power to do so, please take this review down from the posting. Thank you, Daryl Kubicek , CEO, Hometown Motors, Owatonna


Janel Bauer Wood - Source - Facebook Reviews

Thanks for going out of your way to give us a hand!

08.14.2014


Anonymous Customer    - Source - Demand Force Reviews

01.17.2012

You hear a lot of auto mechanic places claim honesty & customer service, but at Hometown Motors you can absolutely rely on both!! I live in the Twin Cities and will drive an hour to Owatonna when I need car maintenance or repairs. It matters to me that much, because Daryl, Char and the entire staff treat my car with competent skill while treating me with sincere communication. That combination makes me 100% confident. They are also upfront about any extra discounts being offered to help minimize your bill and will contact you if any additional problems are detected, letting you decide if you'd like it fixed during the same visit. I guess my summary is simply this: Hometown Motors is "Home" for your car :)


Michelle Dettmer - Source - Facebook Reviews

08.19.14


Lanny Meek - Source - Facebook Reviews

Excellent work friendly staff!

04.04.2014


Nick Gardner - Source - Facebook Reviews

11.30.2013


Frank Stehlic  - Source - Facebook Reviews

07-30-2013


Michael Ratcliff - Source - Facebook Reviews

06.18.2013


Anonymous Customer - Source - Demand Force Reviews

01.17.2012

You hear a lot of auto mechanic places claim honesty & customer service, but at Hometown Motors you can absolutely rely on both!! I live in the Twin Cities and will drive an hour to Owatonna when I need car maintenance or repairs. It matters to me that much, because Daryl and his entire staff treat my car with competent skill while treating me with sincere communication. That combination makes me 100% confident. They are also upfront about any extra discounts being offered to help minimize your bill and will contact you if any additional problems are detected, letting you decide if you'd like it fixed during the same visit. I guess my summary is simply this: Hometown Motors is "Home" for your car care needs :)


Kevin Dillemuth-  Owatonna  - Source- BirdsEye.com

03.03.2011

My wife had a nail in her tire. I put air in it to get it back home for the night. On the way home, I called Hometown Motors and asked if they could fix it first thing the next morning.
They said, no problem, bring it right in. It only took about 45 minutes and we were on our way.
Thank you Hometown Motors.

Response from the owner 03.05.2011

Thanks Kevin. That's very nice of you to comment on our business!  We appreciate the review and the business very much!


User 01277 - -Source - BirdsEye.com

11.17.2009

I recently purchased a used vehicle from Hometown Motors. They offer a 90 day bumper to bumper warranty. I did have an issue after I purchased the vehicle and they took care of it at no charge to me. They are very good to work with.


Reviews left on this web site may not show up immediately.  Any review less than a 4 will be followed up on by a member of management and the issues will try to be resolved in a professional manner before the review is validated.  Not all reviews may be posted.*  Reviews containing false,negative,personal attacks, or hurtful reviews will be screened.  Fair, straight forward and honest reviews will be posted.* Reported date may refect the actual date or the approximate date of the review or the date it was updated to this site.